Contact | Rates | Reservations

ReviewsReviews

Buena Vista Lodge Reviews

Buena Vista Reviews

One of a Kind North Woods Lake Lodge

Guest: Jump In Riders (Cascade, WI)
Date of Stay: February 11, 2016
5 Star Rating

Another great year for the Jump-In Riders in 2016 at Buena Vista Lodge in Pickerel, Wisconsin for Valentine's Day weekend. The temperatures were cold outside but the lodge and the comradery among our group of 19 was warm, as usual. This, being the third year in the lodge for the Jump-In festivities, the lodge was stocked with plenty of wood for the fireplaces and ready to accommodate all of us making our vacations worry free. It has always been a pleasure staying at such an exquisite lodge in the north woods overlooking beautiful Pickerel Lake. Literally, snowmobiling is from the door step to the trail, right out the back door.


Exceptional in every way!

Guest: Sunshine (Illinois)
Date of Stay: May 2015
5 Star Rating

I just returned from the Buena Vista Lodge after celebrating my wife's 40th birthday. I could not have been happier with the lodge. Based upon the reviews I had read prior to leaving, I had very high expectations. These expectations were exceeded in every way. Prior to arriving I found my communications and interactions with the owner to be seamless. The owner was extremely responsive even after normal business hours. Once I arrived, the lodge was in impeccable condition. The furnishings were all high quality. The lodge has tons of living space and has a floor plan that accommodates large groups of people extremely well. The lodge is very private and isolated. We felt as if we had the lake to ourselves. We enjoyed renting ATV's from Motor Sports Marine which is just a few miles away. They only had 3 ATV's but we rented them for 8 hours and were able to keep switching every few hours so 14 people were able to enjoy ATV'ing throughout the day. The ATV trails are close to the lodge and we were able to meet at Lil Hummers (a very nice local bar) to exchange the ATV's. We all went white water rafting at Shot Gun Eddy which is about a half hour away. I highly recommend rafting. It is a ton of fun. But, be sure that the water level is good for rafting (I would say between 500 and 900 cubic feet per second). This lodge is a very special place. Consider yourself extremely lucky if you are fortunate to spend some time here. Words can not adequately capture the experience of staying at the lodge. It will leave you with life long memories. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaways, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.


Management Meeting

Guest: Mike (Oconomowoc, WI)
Date of Stay: January 2015
5 Star Rating

Your lodge was better than advertised! We had a great business meeting and appreciate how well the lodge was maintained and stocked. The atmosphere provided an environment that encouraged teamwork and open dialogue. I couldn't imagine a better place for our group.


Family vacation spot for large families

Guest: TC (Illinois)
Date of Stay: July 2014
5 Star Rating

My family stayed here in July and we had a large group - over 20 people (ages 2 to 83). The lodge is very well kept. With the three levels there was so much living space that we never felt cramped or uncomfortable which was nice for the days that it rained. The kitchen is stocked with plenty of cooking gear to do just about anything you need. It was also very nice to have enough table space for the entire family to eat dinner together every night. Really liked the surround sound to be able to play music during the day. The two decks were great for just relaxing or catching some sun. The screened in porch was a nice room to be able to have to enjoy the outside even in the rain. The gas grill is good sized and worked well for our barbeque dinner. The bedrooms and bathrooms are more than adequate to have anyone use them at any time - we never ran out of hot water. The grounds are well maintained and there is so much open space. We were able to fish right off the edge of the lake in front of the lodge and the pier - caught northern pike and bass. The lake was pretty quiet - not a lot of tourists or even locals with speed boats. Golf course is close, too. Plenty of wood for the indoor fireplace and the fire pit. Everyone took pictures of the sunsets - absolutely beautiful. The garage was very clean and a great spot for extra storage - kids' toys, coolers, etc. The Wi-Fi and wireless are not the strongest connections, but were able to use phones and devices. For those large families looking for great accommodations, lots of space, great outdoors you really can't miss with this lodge. We've been getting together every 3 years and we've talked about making it 2 years and coming back here.
Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Families with teenagers.


Reunion at Buena Vista Lodge

Guest: Terri (USA)
Date of Stay: July 2014
5 Star Rating

Your facility was simply perfect for the needs and wants of our rather particular family. The Lodge was incredible, the grounds beautiful and private, the beach sufficient and the lake wonderful. We added a pontoon boat for fishing and two jet skiis for exciting fun ... As I said, we couldn't have had a better facility for all of the activities we enjoyed. Oh, the beds were very comfortable and the bedrooms so easy to isolate from the noise when those, like me, who don't stay up late, wanted to sleep. THANK YOU for providing us with such a magnificent place to gather - the best we have shared in 12 years of formal reunions (one every other year). I hope we return in two years!
Recommended for: Families with young children, Age 55+, Families with teenagers


This lodge is truly one of a kind!

Guest: April J.
Date of Stay: July 2014
5 Star Rating

We had our family vacation here this summer, stayed one week. We had a large group of extended family (ages 3-91). We've visited many different destinations for our summer vacations in the past, and this is the only place everyone agreed we plan to return to' The lodge itself is wonderful with great lake views. The bedrooms are spacious, beds are comfortable. We liked the variety of bedrooms to suit our different family members. Additionally, we found the lodge to be quite soundproof (which if you travel with a large group you know is extremely important). We loved the mens and ladies bathrooms on the lower level. We also loved the amount of common living space. Other rentals we've stayed in have had 8+ bedrooms, but the common space was never enough to truly accommodate our large group. This lodge felt so large even for a group of our size ... everyone was able to spread out when they wanted to but come together when we wanted to as well (for instance in the HUGE dining area). The washer and dryers were great. There were plenty of towels, washcloths, pillows, linens and blankets. The kitchen is so fully stocked and easy to cook in. Rather than cheap pots and pans you get at some rentals, BV lodge has good quality kitchen utensils and cookware. Probably sounds strange, but one of our favorite parts of the lodge was the garage. It is the cleanest garage you've ever seen, and we used it heavily for our coolers and storage of food and supplies (it's located conveniently off the kitchen). Also the garbage and recycling bins are big enough to accommodate large groups (we've had this problem in the past) and are located out of the way. This property is very well managed, they keep it clean and maintained and well­supplied. On to the very best part of BV lodge ... this property is amazing and hard to come by. It is huge1 There are no neighbors essentially. You have your own beach, volleyball court, dock, nice hiking trails through the woods, an expansive lawn, nice firepit, lots of deck space, large gas grill, a private island and bridge, plenty of parking, an abundance of baby toads in the woods (kids loved them!), etc ... The fishing was good when we were there ... northern pike and bass. The lake is clean, plenty of shallow water for swimming, and the water was warm enough in July. We used the kayak and canoe a lot' It is just beautiful, it's like having an entire wooded lake resort all to yourselves. Can't say enough good things!
Recommended for: People with disabilities, Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.


Wonderful!

Guest: Bob (Elmhurst, IL)
Date of Stay: June 2014
5 Star Rating

Our June 28-July 5 stay at Buena Vista Lodge was perfect in every respect. Everybody in our group had a fine time. The fact that northern Wisconsin's weather cooperated - sunny days and cool nights (only rained once) - made our stay especially pleasant. We had family there from Arizona, Illinois, Louisiana and Tennessee: a happy, multigenerational crowd helping us celebrate our 55th wedding anniversary as well as another couple's 3rd anniversary and my wife's 80th birthday. Wonderful!
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Age 55+, Families with teenagers.


Family Retreat!

Guest: Jon E. (Middleton, WI)
Date of Stay: August 2013
5 Star Rating

Our family of 20 spent a week and could only have enjoyed it more if we had more days. It was awesome in so many ways. The lodge is so kid friendly and was spacious. We had a couple of rainy days and no one minded spending that time in the lodge. The beach isnt much but the sand in the water where the kids can play water was great-no water shoes necessary. the paddle boat and other water craft-made it so much fun for the kids and adults--something we could do together. We also were able to catch some bass and sunnies off the dock which thrilled the kids. We took our own fishing boats. We did catch a lot of nice bass a few northern and a lot of sunnies and perch but were not large enough to keep. Everything was in great shape, kitchen is well supplied, water from the tap filtered and good quality. We enjoyed the fire pit, the wood was well supplied. There is a gas grill now. There are some good eating places in the area and they are well documented in the resources at the lodge. It was nice and secluded so having kids yell and run around we never felt we were bothering anyone. And just not having people or other interruptions was awesome. We hope to return sometime soon!
Recommended for: Families with young children, Sightseeing, Girls getaway, Adventure seekers, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.


Beautiful setting for a Wisconsin northwoods family vacation

Guest: Beekers (Ireton, IA)
Date of Stay: May 2014
5 Star Rating

The lodge was the perfect size for our large group including kids ranging from 1 to 12. The setting and lake views were amazing. We also took some time to explore the many trails on the property. Our family has had several summer get togethers over the past decade in the Adirondacks, northern Michigan, and northern Wisconsin. The BV Lodge is the best place we have stayed over all those years.
Recommended for: Families with young children, Families with teenagers.


The Lodge is magnificent!

Guest: Carol
Date of Stay: August 2012
5 Star Rating

The location is gorgeous. Every menber of my family from my youngest granddaughter (2 years) to myself (75 years) loved it. My daughter-in-law summarized it best by saying "maybe nest time we can stay two weeks". We had no problem catching panfish from the dock. They were small, but big enough for everyone to have fun. Dealing with Motor Sport Marine in Pearson was a pleasant experience, they were on time, very helpful with useful information about the lake, and the boat was new. After staying at your lodge I can't imagine staying anywhere else on our next trip to Wisconsin. We had a wonderful time.
Recommended for: Families with young children, Girls getaway, Age 55+, Romantic getaway, Families with teenagers.


Family

Guest: Teri (Minnesota)
Date of Stay: 12/25/11
5 Star Rating

We had a wonderful time at the lodge. We even had a white Christmas!!! - None of our home towns had snow- so we were thrilled. We spent a lot of time outdoors, cross country skiing, sledding, fun around the campfire, ice fishing-didn't catch much (only two perch) but it was fun to be outdoors. The lodge was everything we were dreaming of and more. It is the most beautiful site, the lake was awesome with the new snow, and the island to explore was fun for all ages. We are 6 months to 62! I will send you a picture of the fireplace with the eleven Grandkids stockings "hung by the chimney with care". The Christmas tree was a great added touch-thanks for that! We contacted Dave about a couple of things and he was very helpful. The owner was extremely accommodating as well.
Recommended for: Girls getaway, families with teenagers, romantic getaways, adventure seekers, families with young children, sightseeing, age 55+.


Fantastic Week at Buena Vista with Friends

Guest: Jake (Milwaukee, WI)
Date of Stay: 08/13/11

5 Star Rating

From the spacious lodge to the large private beach area, Buena Vista exceeded our expectations, and provided the ideal location for a Northwoods gathering of friends. Our group included many young children who spent the week safely playing in the shallow water that extends well into the lake. When not in the water, the kids found plenty to do exploring the island, hiking the many trails, playing on the grass, or relaxing in the lodge. The group enjoyed boating, sailing, fishing and lakeside smores. The owners were very responsive and easy to work with. Buena Vista could be ideal for a vacation in any season.
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, and young children.


Best Family Vacation Ever

Guest: Carol (Sussex, Wi)
Date of Stay: 06/24/11

5 Star Rating

We had a family reunion with family from Europe and the Middle East and the Buena Vista Lodge was better than we could have imagined. We loved everything about Buena Vista Lodge, from the comfortable beds to the dining room that easily accommodated 20+ people. Our group included 5 children and an 87 year old Oma with walking disabilities. It was perfect for all of us. The grounds were private and we felt as though we were on our own island. It is unlikely we could stay at a better place and we were thrilled to stay there for a week. We had an awesome week and everyone would love to come back. A big thank you to the owners for making this family reunion such a memorable occasion. Carol
Recommended for: People with disabilities, romantic getaway, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, families with young children.


Great week in Pickerel

Guest: SMY (Sycamore, IL)
Date of stay: 07/23/11

5 Star Rating

The lodge is truly one of a kind. We hosted an annual family gathering and all were quite impressed with the home and grounds. The building itself is roomy enough for every guest to feel comfortable with their own space. The vast lakefront property allows ample room for yard games and beach for youngsters to play in the sand. We had plenty of room at the dock for pontoon, ski, and fishing boats. A mix of pan fish, bass and northern were caught during our week. there are a handful of bars and eateries on the lake. The property is secluded and gives you the feel you have your own retreat. The owners are extremely helpful with planning and implementation of your trip. the lodge will not disappoint!
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, families with young children.


Great for Large families!!

Guest: Citygirl (Saint Paul, Mn)
Date of Stay: 06/18/11

5 Star Rating

This was our first family vacation and it could not have been better! There were 28 of us and the cabin still felt so spacious. My daughter loved the space in the dining area to stroll in her walker! The privacy of the location was a plus. The Kitchen was well stocked with everything you�ll need. I especially liked the layout of the bathrooms in the basement. It had private showers and toilets to allow everyone to get their business done. Even though it rained 75% of the time we spent there, we still had fun playing games indoors and enjoyed the breathtaking view. The guys enjoyed fishing on the lake. Even my husband, a non fisher, had fun and caught a bass. The owner was very pleasant to work with, Promptly answered my emails and transaction was smooth. I would recommend this lodge and would like to come back in the future.
Recommended for: Families with teenagers, girls getaway, families with young children.


Absolutely great place for a famiy reunion

Guest: Jess (Alma, NE)
Date of stay: 06/11/11

5 Star Rating

We stayed there for a family reunion 06/2011. There were 12 adults and 3 kids 7 & under. It was great. The gated entrance meant it was safe for the kds to ride their bikes and explore. The lodge is huge with enough space for everyone (even on the rainy day, we didn't get cabin fever and drive each other crazy). Lots of extra amenities to make you feel at home. Lodge is very well designed for large groups. Even the few issues that came up were easily remedied by the owner. The only things I would change. 1) repair the paddleboat, the rudder was bent, so it was difficult to steer. Maybe a wall-mount make-up mirror in the ladies bathroom ( this is getting nit-picky, I know). Faster wireless. Although again, it WAS supposed to be a vacation, so not a biggie. I'd also update your photos on this and other website the ones you have do not do justice to the place!! Thanks again. Highly recommend.
Recommended for: Families with teeagers, girls getaway, families with young children.


Stay at Buena Vista Lodge

Guest: Very Pleased ( Butte des Morts, WI)
Date of stay: 02/18/11

5 Star Rating

Wow is right! Had a wonderful girls weekend at the lodge. There is enough dining room sitting for a large group. The kitchen is well stocked and the ice machine was a plus. Beds were very comfortable and plenty of them. Enjoyed sitting in front of the fireplace looking at the like view and just looking at the lodge itself with the huge logs that were used to build it. Amazing. Just a great place to go to get away. The owners were very pleasant to work with. Would definitely return. Met a few of the local folk. Very friendly and helpful with information about the area.
Recommended for: People with disabilities , romantic getaway, sightseeing, age 55+, girls getaway, families with young children.


This place is amazing

Guest: Renee and Mike (Milwaukee, WI)
Date of stay: 02/11/10

5 Star Rating

Wow! We have been lucky enough to stay at this lodge with a group of friends. The lodge itself is really beautiful. It is very spacious and feels luxurious. Some of the logs used to build it are incredibly huge. The view from the great room is stunning! The kitchen is beautiful and open - everything you could possibly need for cooking. And the lodge was in immaculate condition. We hiked in the woods which are very lovely- great trees. We also snow-shoed and cross-county skied. This is the perfect place for a gathering of friends or a family reunion. If there are older folks in your party, several of bedrooms and bathrooms are on the main floor and don't require going up or down stairs. The bedrooms are spacious and very comfortable. Great Northwoods decorating throughout. Highly recommended- I doubt that you could find a nicer property of this size. Very Private, You really don't need to leave the property for anything. We would come back in an instant. The owner are very nice, too. You will not be disappointed.
Recommended for: people with disabilities, romantic getaway, age 55+. Familes with teeagers, girls getaway, families with young children.